• <dd id="sy58w"></dd>
    <nav id="sy58w"></nav>

  • <dd id="sy58w"><address id="sy58w"></address></dd>
    <sub id="sy58w"><table id="sy58w"><div id="sy58w"></div></table></sub>

    Innovation of the year Steelie Award 2018

    The Steelie Awards recognise member companies or individuals for their contribution to the steel industry over a one-year period in a series of categories impacting the steel industry.

    The Steelies are awarded each year at worldsteel’s General Assembly in October. The winners of the 11th Steelie Award were revealed online on 14 October 2020.

    The selection process for nominations varies between awards. Entries are judged by selected expert panels using agreed performance criteria.

    The 2021 Steelie Awards winners will be announced on 13 October 2021. Further details on the nomination submission process are available on the worldsteel extranet.

    Some general rules apply:

    • Only entries from worldsteel members are accepted and all dues must have been paid
    • An entry from multiple members will be accepted, but in the event of a tie priority will be given to a single member entry
    • National and regional associations may only enter on behalf of their own organisation and not as a combined entry with all or some of their members
    • Multiple entries from a single member will be accepted. But it should be noted that the Steelie experience is that quality wins over quantity. We recommend that maximum effort behind a few entries pays a better dividend
    • By making an entry the member gives permission to worldsteel for the contents to be used for communications and promotion activities
    • All marking and comments are confidential and will not be  made available. The judges' decisions are final.

    Six Steelie Awards categories 

    Category 1 | Excellence in digital communications

    This award recognises all digital communications efforts from website to mobile applications to social media. It will particularly look at: overall design, look and feel of the website, quality of information, ease of navigation, loading time and use of technology; presence and activity on social media; range and quality of digital/interactive media – apps, blogs, videos, live-streaming, podcasts, animations, infographics, games and simulations; best practice leadership; and finally digital innovation.

    Category 2 | Innovation of the year

    This award recognises the most innovative nomination for technical improvement or environment mitigation. Nominations are sought through the worldsteel technology committee and judged by the technology and environment committee steering committee.

    Category 3 | Excellence in sustainability

    The excellence in sustainability award recognises a member company or a national or regional association for a specific sustainability initiative that has made a positive impact, or provided benefits in all three areas of sustainability – including economic, environmental and social performance. Additional criteria include the level of community/stakeholder communication & outreach related to the initiative. Nominations are called for through the Sustainability Reporting Expert Group and judged by a panel of internal and external judges.

    Category 4 | Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment

    This award recognises member companies that have played a key role in utilising the concept of life cycle thinking for overall environmental improvement in marketing and/or regulatory influence, project application and new product development. Member nominations in the form of a detailed questionnaire are called for by worldsteel. The nominations are judged by a panel of external LCA experts from around the world to ensure fair competition and raise awareness of this award outside of the global steel industry.

    Category 5 | Excellence in education and training

    This award recognises member companies for their contributions to worldsteel's education and training programme and leadership in enhancing the skills of the steel workforce for today and tomorrow. Member nominations are called for by the worldsteel education and training committee and followed by an evaluation based on a points system.

    Category 6 | Excellence in communications programmes

    This award recognises investment and innovation in major communications programmes (internal and external) that promote the steel industry or steel as a competitive material. The programmes allowed to enter can be product promotion, corporate reputation (environment, sustainability, safety and local community/CSR) or employee communications programmes. The award covers all channels from advertising, print, marketing promotion and digital.